Medienmitteilung 7.07.2021 - bike to work
bike to work logo
Press release of 7 July 2021

39x by bike to the moon

60,000 cyclists pedal over 15 million kilometres with bike to work!


After the Covid year of 2020 the bike to work Challenge 2021 shows an increase in participation. In May and June a total of 60,255 participants from 2150 companies covered 15 million kilometres on their way to and from work. This corresponds to 39 times the distance from the earth to the moon!

In order to take account of the obligation for many employees to work from home, bike to work introduced the home office rule, so that those working from home could participate in the campaign.

Annabelle M. from Köniz: ‘Thanks to the fresh air and mobility in the morning I arrive at the office wide awake and focusedbike to work sharpens the senses. Suddenly you notice things that didn’t even exist for you before. I can really recommend bike to work to everyone – it’s a great experience that brings mobility and fun in your daily routine.’’

Many new faces

Thanks to bike to work numerous first-time participants discovered biking and were inspired by the bike campaign. Over 40% of the participants took part in bike to work for the first time. And many of them were surprised at how easy it is to bike to work and what positive effects this can bring.

The next bike to work Challenge will take place in May and June 2022. In the meantime Pro Velo is offering an interesting alternative: the Cyclomania-Challenge will be held for the second time in September. Cyclomania brings cycling closer to the general public and at the same time contributes to improving the infrastructure for biking. More info on www.cyclomania.ch


bike to work Challenge 2021 in detail

  • 60’255 participants +24% (previous year: 48,635)
  • 16’258 teams +23% (previous year: 13,194)
  • 2150 companies +16% (previous year: 1,851)
  • 15’606’211 kilometres +35% (previous year: 11,527,842)
  • CO2 equivalent* 2247 tonnes +35% (previous year: 1,660) *Calculation basis: 144g/km CO2 emission

bike to work Benefits


Benefit from attractive offers and exclusive discounts in cooperation with our sponsors.



A campaign by:

logo [object Object]

Supported by:

logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]

Medienmitteilung 7.07.2021 - bike to work
bike to work logo
Medienmitteilung, 7. Juli 2021

39x mit dem Velo zum Mond

mit bike to work fahren 60'000 Velofahrende über 15 Millionen Kilometer!

Die bike to work Challenge 2021 verzeichnet nach dem Covid-Jahr 2020 wieder einen Zuwachs an Teilnehmenden. So haben im Mai und Juni 60‘255 Teilnehmende aus 2150 Betrieben 15‘606‘211 Kilometer Arbeitsweg mit dem Velo zurückgelegt. Dies entspricht 39mal der Distanz von Erde zu Mond!

Um dem Umstand der Homeoffice-Pflicht für viele Arbeitnehmende gerecht zu werden, hat bike to work die Homeoffice-Regel eingeführt. So konnten auch alle im Homeoffice tätigen Personen bei der Aktion teilnehmen.

O-Ton aus Köniz, Annabelle M.: «Dank der frischen Luft und Bewegung am Morgen komme ich hellwach und fokussiert im Büro an. bike to work schärft die Sinne. Auf einmal nimmt man Sachen wahr, die vorher gar nicht existent waren. Ich kann bike to work wirklich jedem weiterempfehlen – es ist eine tolle Erfahrung, die Bewegung und Spass in den Alltag bringt.»

Viele neue Gesichter

Dank bike to work fanden zahlreiche Erstteilnehmende den Zugang zum Velo und liessen sich für die Veloaktion begeistern. Über 40% der Teilnehmenden nahmen zum ersten Mal bei bike to work teil. Und viele zeigten sich überrascht, wie einfach der Weg mit dem Velo zur Arbeit ist und welch positiven Effekt das Velofahren mit sich bringt.

Die nächste bike to work Challenge findet im Mai und Juni 2022 statt. Pro Velo bietet bis dahin eine interessante Alternative für Gemeinden: im September findet zum zweiten Mal die Cyclomania-Challenge statt. Cyclomania bringt der breiten Bevölkerung das Velofahren näher und leistet gleichzeitig einen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Velo-Infrastruktur. Mehr Infos unter www.cyclomania.ch.

bike to work Challenge 2021 im Detail

  • 60‘255 Teilnehmende +24% (Vorjahr: 48‘635)
  • 16’258 Teams +23% (Vorjahr: 13’194)
  • 2150 Betriebe +16% (Vorjahr: 1851)
  • 15‘606‘211 Kilometer +35% (Vorjahr: 11‘527‘842)

Souvenir #biketowork


Überrasche dein Team mit einem schönen Geschenk aus unserem Shop.




Eine Aktion von:

logo [object Object]

Unterstützt von:

logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]