Press release of 10 July 2018 - bike to work
bike to work logo
Press release of 10 July 2018

Record at bike to work Challenge 2018: 65,000 cyclists cover 16 million kilometres by bike!

The bike to work Challenge 2018 breaks all records: more participants, more teams, more companies and more kilometres! In the months of May and June 64’680 participants from 2’114 companies travelled a total of 15’970’071 kilometres by bike on their way to work. These figures break all records and show that biking has really become a trend.
This year more companies decided to join the Pro Velo Switzerland campaign for two months, with 51% of companies taking part in May & June. This is also evident in the record number of kilometres covered, 15,9 million (+26%). On average each participant cycled 247 kilometres or 19 bike days on their way to work.
«The success of bike to work shows how important the bike is for companies in the future. Companies are investing increasingly in the bike as a means of transport, as it brings positive effects to the health of employees, savings potential in the infrastructure and efficient mobility within urban areas.» says Matthias Aebischer, President of Pro Velo Switzerland.
bike to work recorded a particularly high number of participants in the agglomerations of Zurich, Berne and Lausanne. Nowadays the bike is far more than just a means of moving around the urban centres of Switzerland – it’s a lifestyle, a statement and fun all at the same time.
Numerous participants tried cycling to work for the first time and became enthusiastic about bike to work. Many expressed surprise at how easy it is to go to work by bike and what positive effects are achieved.
Isabelle K. from Baden took part for the first time this year: ‘‘The feeling of biking to work in the early morning through the quiet streets is unique. The movement helps me wake up and at the same time I have accomplished my first sporting activity of the day. And bike to work sharpens the senses. You become aware of things that you really didn’t notice before. I can really recommend bike to work to everyone – it’s a great experience that brings movement and fun to my everyday routine.
Successful health promotion for companies
bike to work stands for more movement during the working day. Those who bike to work have already accomplished a part of the recommended daily level of physical activity. In addition, measures for promoting health in companies, which also include bike to work, are significant from the economic point of view. Healthier staff drop out more rarely and are more effective. Accordingly, costs arising from illness can be reduced.
bike to work Challenge 2018 in detail
Participants 64’680 participants +18% (previous year: 54’780)
Teams 17’054 teams +17% (previous year: 14’547)
Companies 2‘114 companies +12% (previous year: 1’885)
Kilometres 15’970’071 kilometres +26% (previous year: 12’250’696)
CO2-Equivalence* 2’300 tonnes +26% (previous year: 1’828) *Calculation base: 144g/km CO2 emissions
Top-3-companies in terms of teams
  1. Migros Group 425 teams
  2. ETH Zurich 280 teams
  3. Swiss Post 270 teams
Top-6-cantons in terms of companies
  1. Canton Zurich 466 comp.
  2. Canton Berne 424 comp.
  3. Canton Aargau 165 comp.
  4. Canton St. Gallen 158 comp.
  5. Canton Lucerne 139 comp.
  6. Canton of Vaud 81 comp.
Further results and winners

2019 NEW: TEAM POOL

The Team Pool shows you all the teams of your company that still have places available. Here you can join your desired team.

A campaign by:

logo [object Object]

Supported by:

logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]

Medienmitteilung 10.07.2018 - bike to work
bike to work logo
Medienmitteilung vom 10. Juli 2017

65’000 Velofahrende legen 16 Millionen Velokilometer zurück!

Die bike to work Challenge 2018 bricht alle Rekorde: mehr Teilnehmende, mehr Teams, mehr Betriebe und mehr Kilometer! So haben im Mai und Juni 64’680 Teilnehmende aus 2‘114 Betrieben 15‘970‘071 Kilometer Arbeitsweg mit dem Velo zurückgelegt. Diese Zahlen brechen sämtliche Rekorde und zeigen: Velofahren ist im Trend.
Die teilnehmenden Betriebe sind in diesem Jahr vermehrt zwei Monate bei der Aktion von Pro Velo Schweiz mitgefahren. So nahmen 51% der Betriebe im Mai & Juni teil. Dies zeigt sich auch in der Rekordzahl der zurückgelegten Kilometer von 15,9 Millionen (+26%). Durchschnittlich fuhr jede.r Teilnehmende 247 Kilometer an 19 Tagen mit dem Velo zur Arbeit.
«Der Erfolg von bike to work zeigt, wie wichtig in Zukunft das Velo für Unternehmen ist. So investieren Unternehmen vermehrt in das Velo als Mobilitätsmittel, da es positive Effekte auf die Gesundheit der Mitarbeitenden, Sparpotential in der Infrastruktur und eine effiziente Mobilität innerhalb von Agglomerationen mit sich bringt.» sagt Matthias Aebischer, Präsident von Pro Velo Schweiz.
Besonders viele Teilnehmende verzeichnete bike to work in den Agglomerationen Zürich, Bern und Lausanne. Das Velo ist heutzutage in den urbanen Zentren der Schweiz weit mehr als nur Fortbewegungsmittel - es ist Lifestyle, Statement und Spass zugleich.
Dank bike to work fanden zahlreiche Erstteilnehmer den Zugang zum Velo und liessen sich für die Veloaktion begeistern. So zeigten sie sich überrascht, wie einfach der Weg mit dem Velo zur Arbeit ist und welch positiven Effekt das Velofahren mit sich bringt.
Isabelle K. aus Baden fuhr in diesem Jahr zum ersten Mal mit: «Das Gefühl am frühen Morgen mit dem Velo auf den stillen Strassen zur Arbeit zu fahren ist einmalig. Die Bewegung weckt und zugleich habe ich eine erste Sporteinheit absolviert. Und: bike to work schärft die Sinne. Auf einmal nimmt man Sachen wahr, die vorher gar nicht existent waren. Ich kann bike to work wirklich jedem weiterempfehlen – es ist eine tolle Erfahrung, die Bewegung und Spass in den Alltag bringt.»
Erfolgreiche Gesundheitsförderung für Betriebe
bike to work steht für mehr Bewegung im Arbeitstag. Wer mit dem Velo zur Arbeit fährt, hat einen Teil der empfohlenen täglichen Bewegung bereits erledigt. Gesundheitsfördernde Massnahmen im Betrieb, zu denen auch bike to work gehört, sind zudem von wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung. Gesündere Mitarbeitende fallen seltener aus und sind leistungsfähiger. Kosten, die durch Erkrankungen entstehen, können so gesenkt werden.

bike to work Challenge 2018 im Detail

Teilnehmende 64‘680 Teilnehmende +18% (Vorjahr: 54‘780)
Teams 17‘054 Teams +17% (Vorjahr: 14‘547)
Betriebe 2‘114 Betriebe +12% (Vorjahr: 1‘885)
Kilometer 15‘970‘071 Kilometer +26% (Vorjahr: 12‘697‘250)
CO2-Äquivalenz* 2‘300 Tonnen +26% (Vorjahr: 1‘828) *Berechnungsgrundlage: 144g/km CO2-Ausstoss
Top-3-Betriebe nach Anzahl Teams
  1. Migros-Gruppe 425 Teams
  2. ETH Zürich 280 Teams
  3. Die Schweizerische Post 270 Teams
Top-6-Kantone nach Anzahl Betrieben
  1. Kanton Zürich 466 Betriebe
  2. Kanton Bern 424 Betriebe
  3. Kanton Aargau 165 Betriebe
  4. Kanton St. Gallen 158 Betriebe
  5. Kanton Luzern 139 Betriebe
  6. Kanton Waadt 81 Betriebe
Weitere Auswertungen und Gewinner

2019 neu: Teambörse

Für die Challenge 2019 haben wir die Webseite weiterentwickelt. Bei der Anmeldung siehst du alle Teams deines Betriebes, die noch nicht komplett sind. Du kannst diesen direkt eine Beitrittsanfrage machen.

Eine Aktion von:

logo [object Object]

Unterstützt von:

logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]