Press release of 5 November 2020 - bike to work
bike to work logo
Press release of 5 November 2020

48'635 commuters covered over 11 million kilometres on their bikes

Due to the exceptional situation in the spring Pro Velo Switzerland postponed the popular bike to work campaign from May & June to September & October. Despite the uncertain and adverse circumstances the campaign was a great success: 48'635 participants from throughout Switzerland covered over 11.5 million kilometres biking to work.

The postponement of the popular campaign to the autumn months of September and October was due to the effects of Covid-19. This was the decision of the organisers, Pro Velo Switzerland Association, because of the exceptional situation at that time.
Despite great uncertainty and the postponement to September and October with their unpredictable weather conditions, the number of participating companies was gratifying. A total of 48'635 participants from 1851 companies covered 11'527'842 kilometres pedalling their way to and from work. The CO2 equivalent amounts to 1660 tons, calculated on the basis of 0.144g CO2/km. This corresponds to the annual absorption capacity of a forest with 132'000 trees.
As many staff were working wholly or partly from home the conditions for participation were adapted accordingly. This time participants could also count bike rides on home office days for the Challenge. 15% of participants made use of this possibility on a regular basis.

Success throughout Switzerland

The Migros Group recorded the highest number of participants with 1048 commuters, followed by the ETH with 846 and the Zurich City Administration with 784 bike commuters. In fourth place was the Insel Group with 636 cyclists, and fifth came CERN with 558 participants.

bike to work companies donate 14,000 trees

In registering for the 2020 Challenge companies had the choice of receiving a thank-you gift or donating the amount for planting trees. Over 1270 companies opted to donate.
bike to work supports the companies‘ donations and rounds up the amount to the nearest thousand francs, leading to the planting of a total of 14'000 trees. The tree-planting campaign is run in cooperation with the non-profit organisation One Tree Planted.

Outlook for 2021

In 2021 the campaign will again take place in spring in the months of May & June. Registrations for the campaign are accepted from mid-January via biketowork.ch.

Information

Claudia Bucher, Head of Corporate Communications, 031 318 54 15
Adrian Freiburghaus, Project Manager bike to work, 031 318 54 23

ENAMEL MUG CHF 14.-


With milk and sugar? This charming enamel mug will help you get your day off to a great start.





COMPANIES DONATE 14'000 TREES

In registering for the bike to work Challenge 2020 companies had the choice between a gift or donating trees. Over 2/3 opted for donating trees, so that bike to work can now have a total of 14'000 trees planted.

A campaign by:

logo [object Object]

Supported by:

logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]

Medienmitteilung vom 5. November 2020 - bike to work
bike to work logo
Medienmitteilung vom 5. November 2020

48'635 Pendler legen über 11 MiO. Kilometer mit dem Velo zurück

Pro Velo Schweiz hat auf Grund der besonderen Lage im Frühjahr die beliebte Veloaktion bike to work von Mai & Juni auf September & Oktober verschoben. Trotz der unsicheren und widrigen Umstände verbucht die Aktion einen grossen Erfolg: So haben 48'635 Teilnehmende aus der ganzen Schweiz zusammen über 11.5 Millionen Kilometer Arbeitsweg mit dem Velo zurückgelegt.

Dass die beliebte Aktion erstmals im September & Oktober stattfindet, ist Folge der Auswirkungen von Covid-19. So entschied Organisator Pro Velo Schweiz auf Grund der damaligen Situation und besonderen Lage, die Aktion von den Monaten Mai & Juni auf die Herbstmonate September & Oktober zu verschieben.

Die Zahl der teilnehmenden Betriebe ist trotz grosser Unsicherheiten und der Verschiebung auf die wetterunsicheren Monate September und Oktober erfreulich. Insgesamt nahmen 48'635 Teilnehmende aus 1851 Betrieben teil. Dabei legten die Teilnehmenden 11'527’842 Kilometer Arbeitsweg mit dem Velo zurück. Die CO2-Äquivalenz beträgt dabei 1660 Tonnen bei einer Berechnung mit 0.144g CO2/km. Dies entspricht der jährlichen Absorptionsleistung eines Waldes mit 132'000 Bäumen.

Neu mit Homeoffice

Da zahlreiche Mitarbeitende ganz oder teilweise im Homeoffice arbeiteten, wurden die Teilnahmebedingungen adaptiert. Neu konnten die Teilnehmenden auch Velofahrten an Homeoffice-Tagen zur Challenge anrechnen. Diese Möglichkeit nutzten 15% der Teilnehmenden regelmässig.

Schweizweiter Erfolg

Am meisten Teilnehmende stellte die Migros Gruppe mit 1048 Velopendlern, gefolgt von der ETH mit 846 und der Stadtverwaltung Zürich mit 784 Velopendlern und Velopendlerinnen. Auf dem vierten Platz liegt die Inselgruppe mit 636 Velofahrenden. Der fünfte Platz belegt das CERN mit 558 Teilnehmenden.

Betriebe spenden 14’000 Bäume

Bei der Anmeldung zur Challenge 2020 hatten die Betriebe die Wahl, ob sie als Dankeschön ein Geschenk erhalten oder den Betrag für die Pflanzung von Bäumen spenden wollen. Dabei haben sich über 1270 Betriebe für die Baumspende entschieden.
bike to work unterstützt die Spenden der Firmen und rundet die Summe auf die nächsten Tausend Franken auf und lässt insgesamt 14'000 Bäume pflanzen. Die Baumpflanzaktion wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Non-Profit-Organisation One Tree Planted durchgeführt.

Ausblick 2021

Im kommenden Jahr 2021 wird die Aktion wieder im Frühsommer in den Monaten Mai & Juni sattfinden. Anmeldungen nimmt die Aktion ab Mitte Januar über biketowork.ch entgegen.


Auskunft

Claudia Bucher, Leiterin Corporate Communications, 031 318 54 15
Adrian Freiburghaus, Projektleiter bike to work, 031 318 54 23

bike to work Souvenir

Mit Milch und Zucker? Mit der charmanten Emaille-Tasse startest du perfekt in den Tag. Die Emaille-Tasse gibts für CHF 14.- im Online-Shop.





BETRIEBE SPENDEN 14‘000 BÄUME


Bei der Anmeldung zur bike to work Challenge 2020 hatten die Betriebe die Wahl zwischen einem Geschenk oder einer Baumspende. Über 2/3 entschieden sich für die Baumspende, so dass bike to work nun insgesamt 14’000 Bäume pflanzen lässt.

Eine Aktion von:

logo [object Object]

Unterstützt von:

logo [object Object]
logo [object Object]